Holiday planning

Taking a caffeinated moment to plan the week ahead.

Taking a caffeinated moment to plan the week ahead.

I posted this photo Sunday on Instagram. With only about a week to go, it was the first time that I actually sat down and took a moment to plan more formally the menu for Christmas eve dinner for my family. This marks the first time that we’d officially welcome our folks into our home for a short stay.

Flashback to earlier this year… After lots of back and forth, my sister and I finally convinced our parents to take our Christmas celebrations to Ontario. This first is proving to be quite exciting: it represents the creation of a new family tradition. It’s also an opportunity for our parents to sit back, relax (or at least try) and enjoy the holidays without the stress of entertaining.

While things were coming together quite effectively décor wise thanks to my partner, the same thing couldn’t be said about the menu. My sister and I had been juggling with various ideas for weeks. Only recently have we confirmed some our plans.  It was decided that my sister and her fiancé would prepare the turkey. I’ll be serving up the side dishes to go with the bird as well as hors d’oeuvres, a soup and other elements.

I had already given the kick-off to holiday cooking last week by preparing bacon mushroom roll-ups. Time to get a move on. The next item on my list: tourtière – aka meat pies!

 

Leave a Reply

