Tourtière time: an update

20121226-213055.jpg

After serving up my first-ever tourtière for my folks for Christmas Eve dinner, I come bearing a brief update. My previous post related a play-by-play of how these pies took shape.

As per Grand-maman’s advice, I had planned to cook the tourtière at 350 degrres Farenheit for about 25 minutes. However, before placing the precious pies in the oven, my father gave me a bit of additional advice. He suggested that I brush a bit of milk on the crust which would help give the crust a nice golden color. He also suggested I place the oven on broil for a couple of minutes at the end for it to be slightly crisp.

The verdict… Success! The flavors were great. The filling wasn’t dry. It tasted pretty much the same as my grandmother’s. I could have perhaps left it on broil a touch longer, but other than that, I can say mission accomplished!

Cam from Gekiuma was intrigued by the use of 7-Up in the pie crust. I have to admit that I was too. Surprisingly enough, the pie crust wasn’t particularly sweet. This pie crust can be used in both sweet and savory situations.

More posts to come on items served for Christmas!

2 thoughts on “Tourtière time: an update

Leave a Reply

