Tasting the Past: a weekly rendezvous

Tasting the Past: uncovering old-school recipes. Photo: Eric Rados.

Tasting the Past: uncovering old-school recipes. Photo: Eric Rados.

Over Christmas, I received one of the most thoughtful gifts. Well aware of my desire to blog more consistently, my partner offered me a gift in which I am sure to find a great deal of inspiration. He offered me a wooden box filled with old-school recipes.

This 4×6” wooden box is like a culinary treasure chest. From Ruth’s rhubarb coffee cake to Edna’s Russian chow mein, reading each carefully hand-written recipe or clipping is like taking a trip back in time. I intend on sharing this journey right here with you. Once a week, I’ll be tackling a recipe from this mysterious vintage box. I’ve decided to call this endeavour “Tasting the Past”.

I’m looking forward to taking on this culinary challenge, one recipe card at a time. Let’s see how it goes!

 

This 4x6" wooden box is rich in recipes. Photo: Eric Rados.

This 4×6″ wooden box is rich in recipes. Photo: Eric Rados.

9 thoughts on “Tasting the Past: a weekly rendezvous

  1. Jonathan, si je prêtais le livre de recettes personnelles de ma mère, serais-tu prêt à en essayer une à ton goût? Je ne suis très forte dans la cuisine.

  2. Ma mère se servait d’un vieil agenda de 1955 (vive le recyclage) pour y copier ses recettes préférées et celles de ses soeurs, belles-soeurs ou amies. Elle découpait parfois des recettes tirées de magazines d’époque pour les conserver dans ce ”journal culinaire”. Donne-moi le jour de ta fête et je t’annoncerai ta recette en vedette si la page existe encore!🙂

    Le 13 janvier, c’est la recette « Slice and Serve » (commentaire annoté « très bon »)
    Le 1er mars : c’est « Tarte au sirop d’érable » (délicieux)
    Le 4 juin : on trouve « Concombres marinés » (ma mère adorait les concombres frais aussi!)
    Le 10 juin : c’est « Punch au rhum »
    Tout écrit à la main. Ça me rappelle mon enfance. Génial. Un petit trésor familial que je chéris depuis le départ de ma mère…

Leave a Reply

