Tasting the Past: Ann’s Sour Cream Date Dreams Cookies

Ann's Sour Cream Date Dreams Cookies

Ann’s Sour Cream Date Dreams Cookies

So far, Tasting the Past has made me indulge in my sweet tooth quite a bit. Even Elda’s Rye Bread, was rather on the sweet side. This latest recipe out of the wooden box makes no exception to the rule. Behold Anns’s Sour Cream Date Dreams Cookies!

Ann clearly knew what she was doing. Her recipe had a star ingredient with which dreams are made of – at least of the baking kind: sour cream. I had forgotten how it could enhance so many recipes. The sour cream creates a certain moisture and tanginess. A recent blog post from The Kitchn sings the praises of this ingredient and reminds us of how this dairy product can make a difference in numerous recipes.

Back to the cookies… I baked two batches of Ann’s Sour Cream Date Dreams.  This proved to be quite beneficial as I could adjust some actions and make sure the cookies were just right. The first batch, cooked a little longer than the 10 minutes indicated (12 to 14 minutes to be exact). The finished product was a little dry. For the second batch, I respected the cooking time and had much more success. The cookies were much more chewy and fluffy. The cookies had an almost cake like texture, which is what made the cookies quite special.

Cookie batter: what dreams are made of.

Cookie batter: what dreams are made of.

Ingredients

  • ¼ cup or shortening or butter
  • ¾ cup of brown sugar
  • ½ tsp. of vanilla extract
  • 1 ¼ cup of flour
  • ½ tsp. of baking soda
  • ¼ tsp. baking powder
  • ¼ tsp. of salt
  • ¼ tsp. of cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp. of nutmeg
  • ½ cup if sour cream
  • 2/3 cup of chopped dates
  • 2 eggs

Method

  • Preheat oven at 400°F.
  • Cream together, shortening/butter, sugar and vanilla.
  • Add eggs and mix well.
  • Sift dry ingredients and add to the shortening/butter mixture alternatively with sour cream.
  • Add the dates and nuts last. (The nuts were not initially listed in the ingredients)
  • Drop good heapings of the batter on a greased baking sheet.
  • Bake at 400°F for 10 minutes.
Chopped dates

Chopped dates

8 thoughts on “Tasting the Past: Ann’s Sour Cream Date Dreams Cookies

  1. Wow, Jonathan. I love the new look of your site. Its so clean and bright and makes your photos pop. I even tried out (and used) your pinning feature,”Share the Spoon”. That must have been a lot of work. I have never baked cookies with dates (though I love them). I don’t really know why not. I think I will have to remedy that very soon.🙂 This cookie is calling my name.

  2. These are right up my street with the sour cream. I used to do a salad with it and apricots, nuts and a herb that might’ve been tarragon. Can’t remember now. Wouldn’t mind adding a few dried apricots to this recipe as well as the dates.

  3. When I was in high school ,we had a special tea for our mentors ,mothers and Teachers.
    I was given a recipe fr sour Cream Date Nut dreams ,they were the hit of the tea.
    I really have been looking for this for 50 years I graduated in June !964.
    I think I found it.

  4. Pingback: Tasting the Past – Flora’s Chocolate Molasses Cookies | The Tarnished Spoon

Leave a Reply

