Tasting the Past: Ruth Jones’ Custard Pie

Bird's eye view of the cooked custard. The raspberries form the shape of a heart.

Putting some heart into it. While the custard pie cooked, the raspberries made a heart-shaped formation.

It has been a while since I’ve shared at Tasting the Past post, so this post is long overdue. Glad to get back in the kitchen, braving the heat of the over and the Toronto

I had singled out this recipe weeks ago, but never got around to doing it. Summer calls for a light, cool somewhat fluffy desserts, I guess custard pie fits the note just fine.

Ruth Jones’ Custard Pie recipe card had very little information to go on. The card only listed the ingredients and one single instruction: “Bake at 350° F”, no time, or anything. Having never baked custard, a little bit research proved necessary.

I dug out a series of similar recipes online. Baking at 350 °F for 45 minutes seemed like a consistent instruction, so I went with that. Most of them also called for two teaspoons of vanilla extract. I essentially followed the recurring instructions. I felt the dish might need a dash of color. Some freshly picked raspberries found a day earlier at the Stop’s Farmer’s Market would do the trick.

The verdict

The custard was good. The raspberries had shifted while the pie cooked, creating a heart shaped formation. The fruit added a little extra sweetness. The dessert was perhaps as little too eggy for my own taste, but I guess it is to be expected considering eggs are the star ingredients in this recipe. One factor I didn’t consider initially, but certainly will in the future is the milk. I used 1 % milk in the recipe, because that’s what we had in the fridge. Perhaps using 3.25% milk or even cream may have improved the texture of the custard. I’ll have to give it a try to find out.

An overhead view of eggs, a whisk, raspberries, vanilla extract, sugar and milk to be used for the custard pie.

Get cracking! Eggs, sugar, vanilla extract, milk and some raspberries.

Ingredients (as seen on the recipe card)

  • 5 or 6 eggs
  • ½ cup (100 grams) of granulated sugar
  • 2 cups of milk (500 ML.)
  • Vanilla extract (2 tsp.)

Method

It simply stated “Bake at 350° F (176 ° C)”. But a little more instructions might come in handy.

  • Preheat the oven 350° F (176 ° C)
  • In a large bowl, beat the eggs
  • Add the sugar and keep whisking.
  • Mix in the milk and vanilla extract.
  • Pour mixture into pan
  • Bake at 350° F (176 ° C) for 45 minutes

Cool and serve!

7 thoughts on “Tasting the Past: Ruth Jones’ Custard Pie

  1. I love custard (in a pie or in a bowl!) but you are right, it is eggy. I think it is even sometimes called egg custard (Is there any other kind?). Your pie looks lovely! Obviously you baked love into it or how would the raspberries have formed the heart?

  2. I love how the raspberries made a heart formation! When I glanced at the first photo I figured that you’d arranged them that way purposely😉 I do like this series. Heaps. I wish I had my own old recipe box to discover!!🙂

Leave a Reply

